Partner Institutions

Ritsumeikan University

Ritsumeikan University (RU) is a private comprehensive university with more than a history of more than 100 years. Its 13 undergraduate colleges and 19 graduate schools are spread across three campuses—Kinugasa, Suzaku, and Biwako Kusatsu—located in the prefectures of Kyoto and Shiga, a region boasting a distinctive combination of traditional and contemporary features. RU has extensive local and international networks and partnerships with business and industry, and education and research to address the key challenges facing humanity is pursued beyond conventional departmental borders. In April 2015, RU will open a new campus in Ibaraki, Osaka that is set to become a "Gateway to Asia".

Ritsumeikan University

Universitas Gadjah Mada

Universitas Gadjah Mada (UGM) is Indonesia’s longest-running and largest research institute. Founded in Yogyakarta in 1949, it now operates 18 faculties as well as numerous graduate schools and short-term programs, enrolling a total of 55,000 students.

UGM aims “to be an excellent and innovative world class university, imbued with the nation’s cultural values based on Pancasila as the state ideology and dedicated to the nation’s interest and humanity.”UGM has been one of Ritsumeikan University’s partners since 1996.

In recent years the two universities have also engaged in joint research projects in areas including disaster mitigation in historical urban areas. The UGM campus is in Yogyakarta, a city with a distinctive culture and history as Indonesia’s old capital.

Universitas Gadjah Mada 01

Universitas Gadjah Mada 02

Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB)

Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB) is a university of technology established in 1959 to carry on the work of its predecessor Technische Hogeschool, which was founded in 1920.

ITB’s academic ideal is “to be an excellent university that is dignified, independent, and recognized worldwide, as well as to guide the changes that can improve the welfare of the Indonesian nation and the world.” The formal partnership between ITB and Ritsumeikan University has been in place since 1999.

ITB is composed of 12 undergraduate schools and affiliated graduate schools, and is well known as the alma mater of Indonesia’s first post-independence President, Sukarno. It has also produced many other talented graduates to contribute to the country’s development. The campus is located in Bandung, a city of 1.5 million people in West Java.

Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB) 01

Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB) 02

Universitas Indonesia

Founded in 1849, Universitas Indonesia (UI) has one of the longest histories of any university in Asia.

Its academic mission is “to become an autonomous, modern and multi-cultural research university, and gain an internationally reputable academic standard.” UI is a comprehensive university comprising 12 undergraduate faculties and 13 graduate schools. A formal partnership between UI and Ritsumeikan University has existed since 1996.

The university has a Japanese department, and large numbers of students study Japanese. Campuses are located in Salemba in central Jakarta, and in Depok to the south.

Universitas Indonesia 01

Universitas Indonesia 02

Thammasat University

Founded in 1937, Thammasat University (TU) is Thailand’s second oldest university. It has produced more than 300,000 graduates since foundation.

A comprehensive university encompassing 14 undergraduate faculties and 18 graduate schools, TU seeks “to solve Thailand’s problems with moral commitment for the greater good of society.” The partnership between TU and Ritsumeikan University dates back to 1996, and Ritsumeikan’s College of Policy Science and TU’s Faculty Architecture and Planning have exchanged students and pursued research collaborations since 2003.

TU’s four campuses include Tha Pra Chan Campus in downtown Bangkok, and the suburban Rangsit Campus.

Thammasat University 01

Thammasat University 02

Mahidol University

Mahidol University (MU) is one of Thailand’s oldest universities, with origins in the Siriraj Hospital established in 1888.

Today, it is a comprehensive university with 17 undergraduate faculties and many other educational programs, as well as a broad-based research agenda ranging from the natural sciences through to the humanities. The student population is around 26,000. Under the key concept of “Wisdom of the land”, MU is working to address challenges facing both Thailand and the world as a whole. It entered into a formal partnership with Ritsumeikan University in 1997.

It has four campuses overall, including the Salaya Campus just outside Bangkok, and the Phayathai Campus in central Bangkok.

Mahidol University 01

Mahidol University 02

Chulalongkorn University

Chulalongkorn University was founded in 1971 by King Vajiravudh (Rama IV) to develop talented individuals to help support the country of Thailand. It is Thailand’s first university and was named after King Vajiravudh’s father, King Chulalongkorn (Rama V).

At present, the university has 19 faculties and more than 38,000 students.

It is known as the first university from which a member of the royal family has graduated and produces many elite members from the world over.

The formal partnership between CU and Ritsumeikan University has been in place since 2010.

The campus surrounded by lush greenery is located in the urban center of Bangkok, containing a mix of both modern buildings and traditional Thai architecture.

Chulalongkorn University 01

Chulalongkorn University 02